Saturday morning and nothing to do…

It’s Saturday morning and this day has been X’d-out on my calendar for weeks – no place to go, nothing that must be done!  I’ve been guarding this day like my own radiant rainbow.  No alarm clock wakes me and I pour my first cup of coffee to a sunny spring day, then walk outside with the dog to enjoy it.

She heads around to the front gardens and I follow her, my thoughts as random as the ‘rows’ of columbine I stop to admire.  And beside these exotic blooms, the garlic chives look more robust than ever.

I pinch a bulb from the end of one stem, then bring it close to savor the scent.  And though my Italian mother would wrinkle her nose when a recipe called for garlic, it is easy to conjure memories of her within the swirl of its pungent aroma.

Even as I walk by the fragile and fragrant lily of the valley, Mom stands there reminding me to add a pinch of sugar to the tomato sauce, telling me to fix my hair “it looks like hell”, protecting me from my childhood night demons … loving me the best way she knew how.

And now, I have brought the bulb inside with me and again, breathe deeply.  The scent is still there, though not as striking.

There are things I wish my mother and I had been able to talk about, disagreements we never resolved.  At the time, they seemed as overwhelming as the smell of garlic chives and now … are difficult to recall.

And here is a link to an excellent article about senior home care costs and options – http://money.cnn.com/2013/05/01/pf/home-care.moneymag/index.html

 Mom, Nonie (her mother), Aunt Laura (her sister) - Looks like they've just been caught doing something they shouldn't have been doing!
Mom, Nonie (her mother), Aunt Laura (her sister) –
Looks like they’ve just been caught doing something they shouldn’t have been doing!  Love this shot…hate the wallpaper!

About hereisakiss

Daughter Writer Art's Educator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

