Moms (or Dads) say the darndest things…

For the next couple weeks, I’m asking readers to send short stories to make us all smile:

From Deb-

I went horseback-riding when I was in Mexico. My sister posted a photo of me and the horse on my mom’s bulletin board at the nursing home. In the photo, I’m wearing my hair up under a baseball cap and it’s not the best picture of me.

On one visit:
Mom: Who’s that with the horse
My sister: It’s Deb. She went horseback riding in Mexico
Mom: That’s a long way to go to ride a horse.

The latest exchange:
Mom: That picture of the horse – who is that person?
My sister: It’s Deb – she went to Mexico on vacation.
Mom: With a horse?

Love it!  Thanks, Deb…

And this from Judy (while watching Lady Gaga on TV with her mother) –

Miriam (Judy’s mom): what kind of dress is that she’s wearing? She’s falling out of it.
Judy:  I think she’s wearing a skin-colored undergarment.
Miriam: Does she write her own songs?
Judy: Yes, she’s very creative.
Miriam: I like her songs, but I can’t understand a word she says because she mumbles.
(My mother’s head falls down on her chest; she has nodded off in front of the TV. Something really cool is happening, so I say “Mom, did you see that?”  She jumps, startled, and opens her eyes.)
Miriam: I wasn’t asleep. I was resting my eyes.
(Her head falls back down on her chest, so I take this picture. I won’t show it to her, however, because she’ll say the camera is wrong. I figure that years from now, I’ll want that picture to look at and smile at the memory.)

Judy's mom watching Lady Gaga...

Priceless!

About hereisakiss

Daughter Writer Art's Educator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moms (or Dads) say the darndest things…

  1. hereisakiss says:

    Elizabeth…I really wanted to send you love and hugs and peace and whatever else you need to help you through these dark days. I admire your call out to people to post funny things on your blog. A little sense of humor goes a long way during any time of life, but especially now.

    I am sure your mother was very proud of who you are, even if she didn’t completely understand it. And I know how much you loved your mother, even though there were parts of her you didn’t understand. Based on your writing, it sounds to me in a way, that your love for each other got less complicated as you began to know the complexities of each other more. That’s a neat paradox to be living.

    I look forward to the next time I see you, so I can give you a real hug…Andrea

  2. hereisakiss says:

    Andrea…I love what you say “your love for each other got less complicated as you began to know the complexities of each other more. That’s a neat paradox to be living.” Wow! I’m looking forward to the hug!

Leave a Reply

