To laugh or not to laugh…

Let me start by saying, “Laugh!”  Feel better?  Of course, you do.  I received an email from someone who was uncomfortable with aging-humor.  Sorry!  If I couldn’t laugh sometimes, I would be curled up crying all the time.  And let’s face it.  My mom is often funny.  And deep down…she knows it.  Is it disrespectful?  Don’t think so.  I think it is appreciative and creates memories I will feel blessed to have someday…like –

Mom – Your brother makes better peanut butter and hash than you do!

Mom – Where’s my blowjob (nebulizer)?

Mom – That nurse thinks her shit doesn’t stink.  Mine does, and she knows it!

Mom – I think you need to change the batteries in my ears.

Mom (after receiving several phone calls from me over the course of a week or so) – What?  You think I’m dying or something?

A friend recently talked about how exhausted she was being a caregiver for her mother.  How overwhelmed.  Many of us have been there (or will be).  I try to keep this blog upbeat, but there are often times when it is hard to breathe.  When this happens, what I try to remember all the conversations that start with, “You are so lucky your mother is still alive…”

About hereisakiss

Daughter Writer Art's Educator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to To laugh or not to laugh…

  1. Charlene sparks smith says:

    Love the blowjob convo lol is will one day be my mommy!

  2. Susan B says:

    This is wonderful Elizabeth. Humor is the best medicine.

  3. deb pettinato says:

    I inspire to be just like her. 🙂
    She has and always will.

  4. Ali Colapietro says:

    I too hear those words when the going gets tough with my elderly Mom….atleast she is still alive & with us..sorry to hear about your Moms passing Elizabeth.

Leave a Reply

