Ombudsman

I received a phone call the other day from an acquaintance with concerns about the nursing home where her mother lives.  It sounded like part of the problem was her mom’s attitude, but there are always two sides.  And I don’t care how much nurse’s aides are paid, they are not paid enough.

We have been very fortunate.  Glastonbury Health Care Center is clean, well managed and the staff (particularly the nurse’s aides) are helpful and kind.  For reasons beyond my capacity to figure out, Mom is considered by most to be quite “delightful”.  I guess none of them were around a couple weeks ago when she asked me why I was still wearing my pajamas (I wasn’t) and said, “If you can’t afford a haircut, I’ll pay for it.”  Yes, quite the delight!

From the book-

If you are a caregiver and have concerns about senior care, my understanding is all states have ombudsman programs.  “Ombudsman” means “representative” and they have different areas of practice.  A long-term care ombudsman helps protect the rights of the elderly.  They act as an intermediary voice for those who may have trouble speaking for themselves, as well as for the families who look out for them.

Too often, seniors feel uncomfortable speaking up for themselves in a medical environment.  My parents’ generation will seldom question the authority of a doctor or nurse, assuming ‘all that college’ adds up to absolute knowledge.  And sometimes families are afraid to complain because they worry about possible fall out affecting their loved one.

A quick web search brought me to this site, http://www.locateombudsman.com/, but there were other promising websites as well.  If you have a concern or complaint, the ombudsman is there to help.

In Mom’s case, she does her fair share of speaking up and most days, it is one of the things I love most about her.

About hereisakiss

Daughter Writer Art's Educator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ombudsman

  1. Liz Maloney says:

    Thankyou for all the helpful information, I am very fortunate to have my mother still living in her own home with a very trusted house guest…this week my mom is coming with us to Florida for a week…I am hoping it will still feel like a vacation . I love your writing…

  2. YOU ARE SI TALANTED, YOU DEFINAELY NEED TO WRIE A BOOK, BUT PLEASE USE FICTIONAL NAMES..NAMES AND PLAES WOULD HELP TOO… HEHEHEHE

Leave a Reply

