Thanksgiving Morning, 1966

She leans over the table –
one of Dad’s flannel shirts sprinkled with flour,
rolled to her elbows,
a forgotten pink curler just above her shoulder.

She hums along with a static’y Sinatra
crooning from the transistor radio
that leans against the window,
metal hangar snaking its way toward Heaven.

The kitchen table is covered with dough
she flattens, using a wooden rolling pin
once belonging to her own mother.
I hold my breath

as she quickly scoops
spoonfuls of ricotta cheese
along the edge of dough,
and in one expert move flips the entire line

to create pillows of ravioli
we will later eat as family,
when my father and brothers return
from the high school football game.

With a pizza cutter
I now own,
she steers like a race car driver
on a slalom track,

in and around each pocket,
while I follow –
a loyal pit crew
picking up what’s left behind.

I am happy
to be here.
No boys, no punching,
no loud voices.

Just me
and Mom –

this messy kitchen,
the smell of sauce and meatballs,
the smoke from her cigarette
as it swirls softly into the light.

Elizabeth Thomas

About hereisakiss

Daughter Writer Art's Educator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanksgiving Morning, 1966

  1. Dan Wilcox says:

    Thanks — & Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Liz Maloney says:

    Memories are a wonderful thing…I so enjoy your writing. Happy Thanksgiving…

  3. Reggie Marra says:

    Love this post and the photo…and I know what “the look” is from my dad. Good work, E.

    • hereisakiss says:

      The photo is Thanksgiving dinner (kind of obvious) and sitting next to me was a woman I knew from 1st grade (and her dad)!! And my family teases me about ‘the look’ and how often I give it without realizing.

Leave a Reply

