Writing out the Christmas cards with Mom

Writing out the Christmas cards with Mom

“Okay Mom, what would you like me to write in this card for Aunt Laura (her older sister who lives in FL and is no longer able to come up to CT to visit)?”

My mother responds, “Here it is…Christmastime (long pause).  So Sister, how many times have you fallen down?  Me?  I’ve been on my ass so many times I’m black and blue all over.  They’ve x-rayed me so much, I’m not letting them do it again on Monday (scheduled appointment).  That x-ray stuff isn’t good for you, you know.  And they always want me to take off my clothes.”

I say, “Mom, do you really want me to write all that stuff in this card?”

“What,” she says.  “Isn’t that what people put in Christmas cards?”

I burst out laughing.  She gives me the look I’m often accused of, then says, “Ho! Ho!” and smirks.  Oh, okay.  She’s joking with me.

“What do you really want me to write?”

My mother responds, “So Sister, I don’t feel so good these days.  Snots run down my nose and I’m farting a lot – I’m just a real mess.  How about you?”

Setting down the pen, I again laugh and say, “Do you really want me to write that?”

This time, quite seriously she says, “Well, what are you waiting for?”

And that’s how the card went out………………

About hereisakiss

Daughter Writer Art's Educator
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writing out the Christmas cards with Mom

  1. Steph says:

    Bawhahahahaaa!!!

  2. Loretta Berry says:

    I absolutely LOVE IT!!!!

  3. Rebecca says:

    Yes!!! So funny. God bless our mothers 🙂

  4. Pingback: Peace and peace and peace, everywhere… | Elizabeth's Blog

  5. Stephen Nystrup says:

    God Bless your Mom! Merry Christmas!

    Stephen

Leave a Reply

